The Game Room, Part XI: Completing The North Wall

00

In my last post I finished the ground-level cabinetry and drawers for the north wall.  All that was left was the book shelves that would sit on the counter tops (highlighted above).

First, in the northwest corner, I built shelves to hold my fancier display-quality comic books:

01

I built them using the same techniques I used previously on my board game shelves.  As far as organization, I went with alphabetical by author’s last name from upper-left to lower right, and I put larger format books on their side on the bottom.

With my new fancy reading chair, this made a pretty cool comic-reading corner.  I have spent many long autumn afternoons enjoying it:

02

Next I built the shelves in the northeast corner:

03

From the top shelf down, these shelves hold: source books for RPGs I no longer play, large-format nonfiction books (mostly military reference from my youth), source books for RPGs I currently play, and finally an entire shelf devoted to Warhammer 40K including my White Dwarf collection, rule books, and codexes.

Having the entire north wall finished has been a very satisfying accomplishment for me, for many reasons including being able to see what the entire game room might look like someday:

04

My next step on this project will be starting the west wall (the left side of the above picture).  After that I hope to make the cabinet doors and drawer fronts to close up all those open storage spaces.

In the meantime, here’s another angle of the room for you:

05

As always, thanks for reading!

-Jack

 

One thought on “The Game Room, Part XI: Completing The North Wall

  1. Pingback: The Game Room, Part X: Building Comic Book Drawers | Master of None

Leave a comment